Category Archives: Uncategorized

[Review] Margaret Tudor: The Life of Henry VIII’s Sister by Melanie Clegg

When the thirteen year old Margaret Tudor, eldest daughter of Henry VII and his wife Elizabeth of York, married King James IV of Scotland in a magnificent proxy ceremony held at Richmond Palace in January 1503, no one could have … Continue reading

Posted in book review, books, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

A Date for your Diary – my very first Author talk!

I’m super pleased to announce that I’ll be giving my very first author talk on September 28 at Southampton Central Library from 1-3pm. There will also be books on sale which I can sign for you! Save the date and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Girolamo Savonarola: One Man against the Renaissance – an interview with Truce Podcast

Today it’s my absolute honour to be over on Truce Podcast, with the lovely Chris Staron, talking about the history of Girolamo Savonarola and the storm that he brought to Florence. The podcast is available over on Itunes as well … Continue reading

Posted in girolamo savonarola, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

On This Day In History – February 1, 1587

On 1 February 1587 Queen Elizabeth I of England signed the death warrant of her cousin, Mary Queen of Scots, after months of deliberating on the matter. Mary, who had at one point been Queen of France and the daughter … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment