Tag Archives: book review

[Review] The Darksome Bounds of a Failing World by Gareth Russell

When the ship of dreams sank, so did the Edwardian era. In this original and meticulously-researched narrative history, Gareth Russell considers the real story of the┬áTitanic, and the seismic shift of modernity the 1910s have come to mark in the … Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

[Review] The Last Roundhead by Jemahl Evans

“They say I am the last of them alive; they say I am the last roundhead.” Ancestor to Colonel Blimp, Sir Blandford Candy is an irascible old drunk with a hatred of poets and a love of hats. After an … Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , | Leave a comment

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

[Review] Riddle of the Runes by Janina Ramirez

Alva rushes through the trees in the dead of night with her sniffer wolf, Fen. Being out alone when there’s a kidnapper on the loose is reckless, but if she ever wants to be an investigator like her Uncle Magnus, … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

[Review] Forsaking All Other – Catherine Meyrick

Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her to marry an elderly neighbour. Normally obedient Bess … Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , , | 1 Comment