Tag Archives: book review

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

[Review] Riddle of the Runes by Janina Ramirez

Alva rushes through the trees in the dead of night with her sniffer wolf, Fen. Being out alone when there’s a kidnapper on the loose is reckless, but if she ever wants to be an investigator like her Uncle Magnus, … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

[Review] Forsaking All Other – Catherine Meyrick

Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her to marry an elderly neighbour. Normally obedient Bess … Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

[Review] Machiavelli by Miles J. Unger

He is the most infamous and influential political writer of all time. His name has become synonymous with cynical scheming and the selfish pursuit of power.  Niccolò Machiavelli, Florentine diplomat and civil servant, is the father of political science. His … Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

[Review] The Flames of Florence by Donna Russo Morin

Il Magnifico, Lorenzo de’ Medici, is dead, and his now-exiled son, Piero, has brought ruin upon Florence. War and famine have tarnished and dulled the glittering city. Yet, the glory that is Renaissance artistry grows more magnificent, as does the … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment