Author Archives: Samantha Morris

Armistice 100

100 years ago, at 11am on 11th November 1918, the guns on the Western Front fell silent. Today we commemorate those who lost their lives in not only the First World War, but others in conflicts both past and present. … Continue reading

Posted in armistice day | Tagged , | Leave a comment

[Looking Back] Wilfred Owen’s Neurasthenia

As tomorrow marks the 100th anniversary of the Armistice, I thought I would repost a little something I wrote on one of the First World War’s most famous poets, Wilfred Owen. Owen was sadly killed in action just one week … Continue reading

Posted in first world war | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Incest, Intrigue & Murder – 28th Sept

On 28th September, I gave my first ever talk at Southampton Central Library. In it, I spoke about the myth surrounding the Borgia family. What was it that they did that was so bad? Where did the rumours come from? … Continue reading

Posted in borgia, cesare borgia, the borgias | Tagged , | 2 Comments

On This Day – 13 September (or thereabouts) 1475

13 September 1475 is the generally accepted birth date of Cesare Borgia – although sadly for us the actual date was never written down, historians think it was between 12-14 September 1475 and April 1476. Cesare was born to Cardinal … Continue reading

Posted in cesare borgia | Tagged | Leave a comment

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment