Author Archives: Samantha Morris

Incest, Intrigue & Murder – 28th Sept

On 28th September, I gave my first ever talk at Southampton Central Library. In it, I spoke about the myth surrounding the Borgia family. What was it that they did that was so bad? Where did the rumours come from? … Continue reading

Posted in borgia, cesare borgia, the borgias | Tagged , | 2 Comments

On This Day – 13 September (or thereabouts) 1475

13 September 1475 is the generally accepted birth date of Cesare Borgia – although sadly for us the actual date was never written down, historians think it was between 12-14 September 1475 and April 1476. Cesare was born to Cardinal … Continue reading

Posted in cesare borgia | Tagged | Leave a comment

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Best Borgia Novels

I’ve been on a bit of a fiction kick lately – mainly because I needed a bit of a break from the heavy non fiction that I’ve been looking at whilst researching for my current work in progress. It’s not … Continue reading

Posted in book, books | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Borgia’d Up for my Birthday

So. Today marks the day when I turn 30 years old. I’ve been dreading it, to be perfectly honest. But that’s by the by – it’s just a number, right? It’s just two lots of 15… Anyway, as has become … Continue reading

Posted in cesare borgia, photo post | Tagged , , | Leave a comment