Tag Archives: lucrezia borgia

On This Day – 24th June 1519 – Death of Lucrezia Borgia {500th Anniversary}

Five hundred years ago to the day – on 24th June 1519 – the infamous Lucrezia Borgia died in Ferrara. Lucrezia Borgia has long been assumed to be a villainess of the worst kind – accused of incest, murder and … Continue reading

Posted in lucrezia borgia, on this day in history | Tagged , | Leave a comment

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Best Borgia Novels

I’ve been on a bit of a fiction kick lately – mainly because I needed a bit of a break from the heavy non fiction that I’ve been looking at whilst researching for my current work in progress. It’s not … Continue reading

Posted in book, books | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

24 June 1519 – Lucrezia Borgia dies

On 24 June 1519, Lucrezia Borgia passed away after a difficult pregnancy. She had given birth to a daughter, Isabella, on 14 June who had been so weak that Lucrezia’s husband had almost immediately had the child christened. Immediately following … Continue reading

Posted in lucrezia borgia, on this day in history | Tagged , | Leave a comment

18 April 1480 – Lucrezia Borgia is born

On 18 April 1480, Lucrezia Borgia was born in Subiaco just outside Rome – the daughter of Cardinal Rodrigo Borgia and Vanozza Cattanei. She would have been born outside of the city as a method of keeping her birth and … Continue reading

Posted in borgia, italian renaissance, lucrezia borgia, renaissance, the borgias | Tagged , | Leave a comment