Tag Archives: lucrezia borgia

[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance … Continue reading

Posted in book, book review, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Best Borgia Novels

I’ve been on a bit of a fiction kick lately – mainly because I needed a bit of a break from the heavy non fiction that I’ve been looking at whilst researching for my current work in progress. It’s not … Continue reading

Posted in book, books | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

24 June 1519 – Lucrezia Borgia dies

On 24 June 1519, Lucrezia Borgia passed away after a difficult pregnancy. She had given birth to a daughter, Isabella, on 14 June who had been so weak that Lucrezia’s husband had almost immediately had the child christened. Immediately following … Continue reading

Posted in lucrezia borgia, on this day in history | Tagged , | Leave a comment

18 April 1480 – Lucrezia Borgia is born

On 18 April 1480, Lucrezia Borgia was born in Subiaco just outside Rome – the daughter of Cardinal Rodrigo Borgia and Vanozza Cattanei. She would have been born outside of the city as a method of keeping her birth and … Continue reading

Posted in borgia, italian renaissance, lucrezia borgia, renaissance, the borgias | Tagged , | Leave a comment

[Review] In The Name Of The Family – Sarah Dunant

It is 1502 and Rodrigo Borgia, a self-confessed womaniser and master of political corruption is now on the Papal throne as Alexander VI. His daughter Lucrezia, aged twenty-two, already thrice married and a pawn in her father’s plans, is discovering … Continue reading

Posted in book review, books, cesare borgia, lucrezia borgia, rodrigo borgia | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment