[Review] The Vatican Princess by C.W.Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world's most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the... Continue Reading →

The Best Borgia Novels

I've been on a bit of a fiction kick lately - mainly because I needed a bit of a break from the heavy non fiction that I've been looking at whilst researching for my current work in progress. It's not been all Borgia/Renaissance novels either - I recently finished a wonderful book set mainly in... Continue Reading →

24 June 1519 – Lucrezia Borgia dies

On 24 June 1519, Lucrezia Borgia passed away after a difficult pregnancy. She had given birth to a daughter, Isabella, on 14 June who had been so weak that Lucrezia’s husband had almost immediately had the child christened. Immediately following the birth, Lucrezia suffered with a mild fever but it was thought that she would... Continue Reading →

18 April 1480 – Lucrezia Borgia is born

On 18 April 1480, Lucrezia Borgia was born in Subiaco just outside Rome - the daughter of Cardinal Rodrigo Borgia and Vanozza Cattanei. She would have been born outside of the city as a method of keeping her birth and parentage discreet - Rodrigo Borgia had his own personal policy of discretion, unlike some other... Continue Reading →

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑